Rossetti Ensemble
Event 5
Monday 8th October, 8:00pm 
Little Missenden Church

Sibelius, Ravel, Elgar, Matthews
Jean Sibelius
Andante Festivo Quartet
David Matthews
Sonatina for Viola & Piano op141
Maurice Ravel
Piano Trio in A minor
Edward Elgar
Piano Quintet in A minor op84

This is an archived event from the 2018 Programme.


 Sara Trickey violin  Martyn Jackson violin  Sarah-Jane Bradley viola  Tim Lowe cello  John Lenehan piano

©Robert Piwko 


Sibelius’s Andante Festivo Quartet was written in 1922, and it’s easy to see this glorious single movement as a reflection on the First World War. He revised it for full orchestra in 1938, when it seemed a portent of the Second.

Ravel wrote his Piano Trio in 1914, the first year of the war. Like Debussy and Satie, he had already created works that displayed a new – distinctively French – style, breaking sharply from the 19th century Romantic (and Germanic) tradition.

Elgar wrote that his Piano Quintet “runs gigantically and in a large mood”. He also suggested that “it is full of golden sounds and I like it. But you must not expect anything violently chromatic or cubist”. Written in 1918 it was one of his last significant works - and one of his finest.

We celebrate David Matthews’ 75th birthday year with his recent Sonatina for Viola and Piano. David has long been associated with the Festival - we’ve commissioned music from him and performed many of his pieces over the years.

The Rossetti Ensemble was created this year out of Sarah-Jane Bradley’s longstanding collaborations with pianist John Lenehan, cellist Tim Lowe, and violinists Sara Trickey and Martyn Jackson (above) - who joins the group for this programme.

“The performances are exceptional. In a collective and individual display of how to deliver chamber music at world-class level, Sarah-Jane Bradley’s viola playing – ear-mesmerising, yet never obtrusive – shines even in this company” BBC Music Magazine


Concert sponsored by Martin and Laurette Read